|
|
||||||
|
||||||
| Index Link To US Private Messages Archive FAQ RSS | ||||||
| Domain Discussion Forum Do you play the domain game? If you're interested in (or addicted to) researching, finding, buying and selling domains, this is the forum for you! |
Share Thread: & Tags
|
||||
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|||
|
Hi everyone, I'm a newbee...
I have a website and my knowledge is very limited. The information shared with this form is informative. Thank you. From some of the knowledge learned, I have found out through testing my web site that another entity is utilize my domain name to point to their website with out my consent. I’m very concerned that Yahoo or Google may think this is a form of ‘spamming” and/or have a direct impact on my positioning. I would appreciate your assistance as to how I am to address this situation ... report them? if so how? Thank you for your comments and assistance. Sincerely, Alana PS Hope this is in correct area. |
|
||||
|
Thread moved here in the "Domains Discussion Forum". :)
__________________
"Being an expert isn't telling other people what you know. It's understanding what questions to ask, and flexibly applying your knowledge to the specific situation at hand. Being an expert means providing sensible, highly contextual direction." Jeff Atwood SEO Workers - Search Engine Optimization Consulting Company | SEO Analysis Tool | Webnauts Net SEO |
|
|||
|
Give us your URL so we can take a look.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Then you have to ask for it, thereby delaying any progress on the problem. I don't care what or who I am talking to, they know from repeated badgering to put a URL into all correspondence referencing a page or program. It's like leaving a message on the phone that you would like a return call, and not leaving your number, as if we all had perfect memories, or had our phone book with us wherever we go. It is inconsiderate and unprofessional to leave it out. (Sorry for the rant, but it is one of my pet peeves.) Look at all the posts already made with no progress for the subject submitted, or posts never made because there is no way to see what is being talked about. What a waste of time. Why would the moderator put this up for discussion without a URL?
__________________
http://MADEinUSA.org and others. |
|
|||
|
here is the url that I completed the "link" search via google, for http://www.just-imagine-dolls.com
Several listings at the bottom of the page are for differnt entities with the above URL address noted. For Example you will see www.wendywendywendy.com and the the cite URL address is noted in the description. Thank you |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Which URL is the one in question? You mention two, and reference a list. You were given a lead-in by the moderator, and you spoke of a single URL that was being discussed: Quote:
I give up.
__________________
http://MADEinUSA.org and others. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Here is the explanation. (Guessing on the URL). 1. It is a parked domain. 2. It is a domain registered with GoDaddy (the Registrar). 3. They show search results if there is no actual page to show. Conclusion: 1. The URL does not point to an active web site. 2. Might be that your DNS has not been updated. (DNS=Domain Name Service) 3. There may not yet be an actual hosted page to have the DNS point to it. I hope this guides you to what you were looking for. This "parking page, search listings", is common practice for registrars until the DNS gets pointed to an actual page for you. HTH (Hope this helps.)
__________________
http://MADEinUSA.org and others. |
|
|||
|
Concerns the domain name www.just-imagine-doll.com point to other entities. Not sure why.
To do a search on www.just-imagine-dolls.com the following was typed: http://www.google.com/search?as_q=ww...om&safe=images To my amaze I found numerous domain address such as www.prairiedolls.com www.buckeyedolls.com www.wendywendywendy.com www.dollsbyliliana.com all of which contained my domain name www.just-imagine-dolls.com When you click on any of the following you will arrive a "godaddy.com" www.prairiedolls.com www.buckeyedolls.com www.wendywendywendy.com www.dollsbyliliana.com Why would the description in the above 4 address contain my domain name www.just-imagine-dolls.com Is this normal practice?? PS My Domain Name is in good standing. That is the first thing I checked. |
|
||||
|
yes it's pretty common place, what's happening is you are seen as a authority in your market to these persons, and they want to get the traffic and users that you are attracting, so they are using your name or they are just very similar in nature.
they are not stealing anything from you, if anything they are helping you... if they linked to you, it would be even better, but that they mention your .com name is good. I'll have a closer look and confirm this... |
|
||||
|
ok heres the deal...
you do pay per click don't you? well your PPC link shows up on that page that is cached by google and it was here http://72.14.203.104/search?q=cache:...s&ct=clnk&cd=7 so now when someone searches google for that exact phrase, google says hey I saw it right here... have a look... no harm no foul... like I said it's only helping you... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2. If you want to know about your site, then enter "site:just-imagine-dolls.com" 3. to see who links to you, enter "link:just-imagine-dolls.com" Oh, yeah, leave off the www. part. There are other speciality searches that can show you other stuff too. Go check out google and yahoo for their specifics. Like Kris said, they are helping you. To find out how visable you are, don't put into the search, your domain name, but what people would put in that you want them to find you. If they know your URL, they will just go there. The ones that go to GoDaddy, arn't pointed to a page yet. The links there are GoDaddy's free advertising on your nickle. Has nothing else to do with you. HTH
__________________
http://MADEinUSA.org and others. |
|
|||
|
I've installed Stat Counter on all my websites. Last week the entry and exit data indicated that for one of the site visitors they landed on and exited from, pages on my domain of:
www.known.com were these pages: The supposed page is: www.raosahebd@known.com I am really baffled, and somewhat troubled by this. When I clicked on the landing and exit page name the known.com home page appeared on the screen I do not have a page with the name www.raosahebd@known.com. Has anyone else experiemced anything similar to this? Can anyone shed some light on this? Do I need to be concerned? And if so, about what? Is there anyway to get this person to stop? Many thanks in advance for your help. Cheryl C. Cigan Known Books www.known.com |
|
|||
|
Clicking the link in FireFox brings up a confirm box saying:
"You are about to log into the site known.com with the user name www%2Eraosahebd but the website does not require authorization. This may be an attempt to trick you. Is known.com the site you want to visit? " If it was only one visit, I wouldn't worry about it. It looks to me like somebody is experimenting. I don't think url hijacking, but just maybe an attempt at amazon affiliate hijacking. I don't think it would work for them, though. If you can get a lot of visits like this, then I would go further, but for only a few, I wouldn't worry. You will most likely get a few more from your post here. |
|
|||
|
Dean:
Thank you so much for taking the time to explain that to me and for the information about the FireFox click through. I get tons of hits from China and I think I'll click on those and look at the source code to see if it has been altered in some way. I think Holmes said to Watson, "The hunt is afoot!" Thank you again. Cheryl C. Cigan Known Books www.known.com |
|
||||
|
This is one of those "yellow flag" things that says, not you have a problem, but you may have one soon, so keep a watch on your log files, check your site for vulnerabilities and XSS, etc.
Although a single occurance can be just a random occurance, it is a good time to check your security just in case. Any time you see "@" in a web page request in your log, you should be suspicious. There was a famous exploit about a year ago that used the "@" symbol, and resulted in rewrites of several major browsers. Because this is a reserved symbol, it is not something a user can enter into their browser. It is most likely to be a bad link, but there are some exploits that may be possible also.
__________________
The best way to learn anything, is to question everything. |
|
|||
|
Thank you wige!
After reading your email and the response from Dean I contacted Digital Forest. They just notified me that they have investigated from their end and that everything is fine. However, I will continue to be diligent with my monitoring! Many thanks again for all your help! Cheryl C. Cigan Known Books www.known.com |
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
WebProWorld |
Advertise |
Contact Us |
About |
Forum Rules |
MVP's |
Archive |
Newsletter Archive |
Top |
WebProNews
WebProWorld is an iEntry, Inc. ® site - © 2009 All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy and Legal iEntry, Inc. 2549 Richmond Rd. Lexington KY, 40509 |