WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > WebPro Exchange > Domains Buy/Sell > Domain Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Domain Discussion Forum Do you play the domain game? If you're interested in (or addicted to) researching, finding, buying and selling domains, this is the forum for you!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:10 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Jersey, U.S.
Posts: 293
jdiben RepRank 0
Default Revenge on cybersquatter

I have the .com and .net domains for my website. I noticed that someone had registered the .info domain name. So for the hell of it I checked the whois database to see who registered the .info and to my surprise someone registered it using all the contact information from my domains. Because of the registration information I have ruled it out as a coincidence that the name was registered. It was just registered 2 days ago so I am waiting to get a ransom request.

I don't want the name but I want to fight back. I could transfer the domain to my registrar(after all it was registered with my name, phone, address and email) or I could just report the squatter for registering with false information.

I know that reporting him would be the right thing to do but transferring it away from him would b so much more satisfying.

What would you do?

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2004, 01:51 PM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default Could be the domain name supplier...

I think I would first of all check with the domain name registrar, or whoever you registered your domain with. They may have a policy of snapping up other variations on the domain name suffix (possibly to sell to you as an "extra" or possibly, to help safeguard your name, it's hard to tell).

Seems like a pretty weird coincidence that someone else should snap up your name at exactly the same time. Could anyone else have known the domain name you were after?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2004, 01:51 PM
mikmik's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 3,406
mikmik RepRank 1
Default

Quote:
I know that reporting him would be the right thing to do but transferring it away from him would b so much more satisfying.
That would be hilarious, I would love to see you just transfer it! But, this sounds like a very weird happening, this person may be up to something or become a major pain in the arse if you make them mad.

Anything might make them mad, I suppose, even reporting this. Best to just distance yourself, though, who knows what could be revealed if you transfer - it could turn around and taint yourself just by being innocently involved.
__________________
What I am is what I am, are you what you are, or what.
Eddie Brickel
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2004, 02:09 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Jersey, U.S.
Posts: 293
jdiben RepRank 0
Default Re: Could be the domain name supplier...

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulhiles
Could anyone else have known the domain name you were after?
I've never been nor am I now after the name and I have no interest in a .info. It wasnt registered by my registrar but it was registered with all the same contact information available through my registrars whois database.

I registered my .com and .net 2 years ago and .everythingelse has been available since. I just dont understand why they used my contact info.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2004, 02:24 PM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default

Ah okay, sorry Joe, I misunderstood.
I thought you meant that you'd only just registered the domain yourself a couple of days ago.. and someone had got the .info at the same time.
That's why I said it was a strange coincidence.. I need more coffee! :o)

Maybe someone's bought it as a surprise pressie for you? LOL!! :o)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2004, 02:00 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 1020-103 ave. Dawson Creek BC Canada
Posts: 1
k_graham RepRank 0
Default Re: Could be the domain name supplier...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdiben
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulhiles
Could anyone else have known the domain name you were after?
I've never been nor am I now after the name and I have no interest in a .info. It wasnt registered by my registrar but it was registered with all the same contact information available through my registrars whois database.

I registered my .com and .net 2 years ago and .everythingelse has been available since. I just dont understand why they used my contact info.
Where I register domains www.mydomain.com I just received a email from them a few days ago offering something like 20 free info domain names of my choice. I assume this is a marketing ploy for the .info to get people hooked - if 1/2 of all people pay to keep the free name they will be making a ton of money in a year.

k_graham
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:05 AM
jawn_tech's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,768
jawn_tech RepRank 2
Default

Quote:
Maybe someone's bought it as a surprise pressie for you? LOL!! :o)
I was thinking along the same lines... perhaps soon you'll be contacted by someone who thought they were doing you a favor. I can't see why else someone would use your contact info in the reg.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2004, 07:18 PM
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Posts: 8
omahtld RepRank 0
Default

Hi, I'll bet your domain is with enom.

Enom and sipence.com have been registering their customers .com domains for the .info using the .com registrants whois info. Without asking.

Apparently, they plan a promotion where you may or may not have to pay for the .info, but they are doing on your behalf, without asking.

I found this with some of my customers domains.

Everyone is waiting to see how it pans out, but a lot of people are pretty pissed at enom atm.
__________________
http://www.supportingit.com Web Hosting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2004, 09:25 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Jersey, U.S.
Posts: 293
jdiben RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omahtld
Hi, I'll bet your domain is with enom.
I don't deal with enom but the .info name was registered through enom. That would explain why they haven't responded to my emails informing them of the fraudulent registration.

Joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > WebPro Exchange > Domains Buy/Sell > Domain Discussion Forum
Tags: ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0