Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > IT Discussion Forum
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

IT Discussion Forum Having IT issues? Got IT questions? Who doesn't? If you can't get your Apache to work with your MySQL or your php is choking on your ODBC... Let's see if we can help you come up with some ideas.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2004, 10:12 AM
WebProWorld Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 71
pdrew RepRank 0
Default Domain has been hijacked

Greetings:

Came into the studio this morning, turned on the computer, fetched my email and discovered a message from a client that my website was down.

I opened IE6, typed in my URL, and sure enough, my DNS has been hijacked by www.pacanka.com.

Now, the wrinkle in this is that my site is/was being hosted on another company's server for whom I've done work. The only other site on the server is the host's company site. That site is gone, too, replaced by pacanka.com. Last year, the company let their IT guy go, so the server was basically running unattended.

The gods had smiled on this unattended server until this morning. The name (a first name repeated twice) before the @-sign in the email address provided on pancanka.com is the same as the IT guy who used to work at the company that's hosting my site! So, I emailed him asking if he's the same guy and for an explanation. I don't have high hopes for a reply. I've put in a call to the owner of the company who owns/runs the server and hope to speak to him by Monday.

Anyway, since my DNS has been stolen/co-opted, does this mean my domain name "www.peterdrewvo.com" is now gone and no longer available to me? Would it work if I got another host? Any guidance as to how to handle this situation would be most appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________
Peter Drew
Peter Drew Voiceovers
Voiceovers for all electronic media
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2004, 07:02 PM
carju1's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wettest West Wales, UK
Posts: 851
carju1 RepRank 0
Default

Hi Peter,

No your domain name should be OK as it is curretnly still registered to you (OK I assume you are the same person)

Registrant Contact:
Peter Drew Communication Services
Peter D. Fenstermacher (pdrew@portone.com)
860-291-9476
Fax: none
87 Church Street
East Hartford, CT 06108
US

It looks to me as if your registration is with
Technical Contact:
Network Commerce Inc.
Domain Registration (eHost@NetworkCommerce.com)
206-652-3040
Fax: 206-903-4056
411 First Ave. So., Suite 200N
Seattle, WA 98104
US
so if you need to point at a different DNS then they should do that for you (or you do it yourself).

However looking at the page http://www.peterdrewvo.com/ it looks to me as if this pacanka person has just hacked the server and replaced your home page with a link through to his server. Have you tried replacing your old home page http://www.peterdrewvo.com/index.html with another page?

Julian
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Webmaster, IT and Security Discussion > IT Discussion Forum
Tags: , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0