iEntry 10th Anniversary Forum Rules Search
WebProWorld
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
The Castle Breakroom (General: Any Topic) Here's the place to talk about anything and everything. What's discussed is up to you!

Share Thread: & Tags

Share Thread:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 03:40 AM
EJRS.COM's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 680
EJRS.COM RepRank 0
Default WARNING: Fake "Citibank" Scam - Everybody please

Everyone, Please be advised. There is an email circulating with these words... kindly DELETE immediately. It is a scam to get your vital details such as credit card info etc!!! What happens is that it does open up a genuine citibank webpage but at the same go it allows a popup. Apart from spelling errors that could churn your stomach, they actually redirect you to www.liow09w3q.da.ru/?x66wVNbIZwyDBbN (russian domain) which is what triggers off the popup I think and then www.menforyou.kir.jp/cit/ (Japanese Domain) and they happen so fast, I literally had to clear off my cache, cookies and clear the history to slow down the process just so I could catch the URLs.


Dear OnlineCitibank Cleint,

This e-mail was sentt by the Citi-bank sevrers to veerify your email
addres. You must cmoletpe this psrcoes by clicking on the link
below and enteering in the smmall window your Citi-bank Debit
Card nummber and PiN that you use on ATM Machine.
That is donne for your ptrecotion -k- becourse some of our members no
lenogr have accses to their email addseerss and we must verify it.

To veerify your e-mail address and access your CitibankOnline account, click on
the link below. If nothing hapepns when you click on the link -O copye
and passte the link into the adress bar of your web broswer.

http://www.citibank.com/?8xyW9FYGETB...Ig6naHWVva5Ptk

---------------------------------------------
Thank you for using Online-Citibank!
---------------------------------------------

This automtaic email sent to:
Do not rpely to this email.

IToMGtndaAVGVcJdBttH
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 03:49 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Caye Caulker, Belize, Central America
Posts: 6
auxillousuites RepRank 1
Default There is more

I have seen those types of e-mails come in not just for Citibank but also for Ebay (your credit card has expired, please fill in your new credit card information here), for Paypal (same story). They look so legit using templates of legit websites that you really have to look beyond the mail itself. I don't trust any e-mail that solicits my private financial information and just delete them. Whenever I need to update any web financial information I simply log into the secure sites of the companies I am dealing with.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 03:56 AM
EJRS.COM's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 680
EJRS.COM RepRank 0
Default Never give personal info over email

Email is a BAD BAD way to send any vital information such as credit card etc. if you just have haaaaave to send vital info, at least do it on a trusted website which has https://.... and has a valid secure cert. Generally that would help.

But some cons are larger than the system. Sooner or later someone will find a way to beat the system. They are genuine wolves in fake sheepskin. Don't let them pull the wool over your eyes. (Even the wool they pull over your eyes is 50% rayon) ;) Ok that's one baaaaaaaaaad pun. But ewe get the idea.

(This user slinks away sheepishly).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 05:45 AM
redcircle's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI USA
Posts: 425
redcircle RepRank 0
Default

In the US sending Visa card info via email is illegal.. atleast that's what I heard... visa will come after you if they find out.
__________________
www.squitosoft.com - PHP development site. featuring Squito Gallery. a php driven photo gallery.
www.rgfx.net - Specializing in Internet solutions, including Html authoring, Interactive Web sites, 3D/2D Graphics and animation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2004, 08:10 AM
WebProWorld New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4
realm174 RepRank 0
Default

Thank you, ejrsdotcom, for the warning. I'm sure it will help someone, somewhere. I never ceased to be amazed at what some people do with their information. The company I work for accepts credit card payment. People give it to me on the phone, via fax, via email, via regular mail, anything goes... I'd never think of doing that myself.. but oh well...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2004, 01:32 AM
EJRS.COM's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 680
EJRS.COM RepRank 0
Default crazy people

There was once a company that requested authorization etc and asked me to email my card number as proof that I made the order. I nuked them to kingdom come saying how dare they ask me for card details over a non secure medium such as email. People are soooo dumb sometimes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Center > The Castle Breakroom (General: Any Topic)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0