Contact Us Forum Rules Search Archive
WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Center > Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Breakroom (General: Any Topic) Here's the place to talk about anything and everything. What's discussed is up to you!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2005, 08:46 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: scottsdale, arizona
Posts: 145
obuwebco RepRank 0
Default Site Stealing - not once but twice

Okay, so you have slaved for years to build a successful web design and search engine optimization business. Blood, sweat, and tears pour into your baby. You achieve killer rankings (shameless plug =Search: professional web design). You got employees and overhead.

Then one day you look at your logs and see that some meathead does not just borrow pieces of your website, but attempts to take the whole tamale.

This guy is attempting to either reverse engineer our website, or just copy it whole.

I submit this to the court as evidence.
Our site: www.obuweb.com
Exhibit A: http://www.conectasystem.com/td/
Exhibit B: http://www.conecta.org/mas/12/12

and as addtional evidence looks like he has pirated a few more at:
http://www.conecta.org/mas/11/11
http://www.conecta.org/mas/10/10

Judges-What is your ruling?
__________________
obü Web Technologies Inc.
Web Design
Search Engine Optimization
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:39 PM
brian.mark's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Omaha
Posts: 3,028
brian.mark RepRank 2brian.mark RepRank 2
Default DMCA

DMCA them. They don't look smart enough to even know if you're bluffing or not, so you may not need a lawyer. The couple of times I've seen this, we didn't ever even need a lawyer.

Oh, and "Hang 'em" is the verdict from this jury member.

Brian.
__________________
ToolBarn.com, an Internet Retailer Top 500 and Inc. 500 Company | Tool Parts | Pet Supplies
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:43 PM
ADAM Web Design's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,345
ADAM Web Design RepRank 0
Default

I find the defendant guilty on the first two charges, but not on the last two on the grounds of lack of evidence. The juror, however, would like to provide the plaintiff with the opportunity to submit evidence to prove his claim.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:51 PM
brian.mark's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Omaha
Posts: 3,028
brian.mark RepRank 2brian.mark RepRank 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADAM Web Design
I find the defendant guilty on the first two charges, but not on the last two on the grounds of lack of evidence. The juror, however, would like to provide the plaintiff with the opportunity to submit evidence to prove his claim.
I searched for the names on the second two and found the originals pretty easily. Not stolen from the same site, but stolen anyway.

Hang 'em.

Brian.
__________________
ToolBarn.com, an Internet Retailer Top 500 and Inc. 500 Company | Tool Parts | Pet Supplies
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:09 AM
jawn_tech's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,359
jawn_tech RepRank 2jawn_tech RepRank 2
Default

I'm not sure what he's trying to do. Is the contact information on his site the same as yours? If so, apparently he won't succeed at stealing many customers.

One one of the pages you mentioned, all the navigational links seem to point to pages on your domain.

While we're deliberating, I think the jury should try to figure out a motive, because it seems to be eluding me.
__________________
Domain Name Registration and Website Hosting :: DesignerTrade
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:44 AM
brian.mark's Avatar
Administrator
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Omaha
Posts: 3,028
brian.mark RepRank 2brian.mark RepRank 2
Default One person that did this to us...

One person that did this to our site used our page for serving to bots, then showed a different page (basically changed the links to go to his actual site) when an actual visitor hit the page.

Maybe they're trying to build a portfolio of stolen works. Who knows.

Get a rope.

Brian.
__________________
ToolBarn.com, an Internet Retailer Top 500 and Inc. 500 Company | Tool Parts | Pet Supplies
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:00 AM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Barrens of NE Ohio
Posts: 281
nottheusual1 RepRank 0
Default Don't "knee jerk" on this....

Maybe he is doing something at some level, but when the sites are entered via the home pages, nothing you have mentioned shows up in normal navigation.

This "reverse engineering" stuff happens all the time. Normally, though, the person who is doing it has enough brains to not put it into an active directory and sand-box the links (even the graphic calls). You may be surprised to find out how many developers do it - and not surprised by how few admit it.

**Honestly** we've done it before, too, just to see how somebody pulls something off. However, we've never plagiarized content or stolen designs/graphics.

It's a great tool for noobs in our design area - pick out 10 sites you like and peel them apart to understand how they work. Then tell us how, and show how you could do better.

Their existing site is pretty tight - I'd rule out the overtly nefarious "why's". And you could always do what we do - Email and ask why........... You might just be flattered by the whole thing or really pissed off and call a lawyer.

The DMCA part will work since they are in SoCal, but the info they lifted from you isn't in a "public facing area", so all they'd have to do is lock the folders down and kill all the graphics http calls to avoid problems.

Do reach out, though - that might prompt them to be a bit more considerate the next time.

:not_the_usual1
[you decide]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:26 AM
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 5,979
greeneagle RepRank 0
Default

I couldn't find anything anywhere to really worry about! Looks like the plagiarism filters are working fine!

Ken
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Center > Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
Tags: , , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0