WebProWorld Part of WebProNews.com
Page One Link To Us Edit Profile Private Messages Archives FAQ RSS Feeds  
 

Go Back   WebProWorld > Center > Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
Subscribe to the Newsletter FREE!


Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Chatbox Mark Forums Read

Breakroom (General: Any Topic) Here's the place to talk about anything and everything. What's discussed is up to you!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:49 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,302
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default UK Ripoff?

For once I am not certain where to post this, it ain't SEO, so I leave it with the Mods to ponder on.
I received an Invoice this morning, which is dressed up like a URL renewal. If you have forgotton your host go to wwwCoolWhois.com and check it out. The Invoice goes on to say that for this fee we will also submit your site to the Major SE's. Just keep your eyes open, if anyone wants the name, PM me. Admin don't like Law Suits, me I Love em'
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:43 AM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 480
adbart RepRank 0
Default

I don't understand. It's a fake letter?
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:28 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,302
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

It was a letter inviting me to renew a URL address, giving the immpression that they were the host. For £35.00 they would renew and submit my site to the top SE's.A con.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:19 PM
paulhiles's Avatar
WebProWorld 1,000+ Club
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
paulhiles RepRank 0
Default

I've had a very similar letter from a company offering to promote one of my .info domains (£49 for the year).
They had attached a tear-off payment slip as though it were an actual bill. I just threw it into the bin, although it did annoy me!

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:41 PM
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 124
gworld RepRank 0
Default

This type of scams has been around for a long time, at least in this case they don't ask for too much.
I have some patents and trademarks and there is a company in seattle that regularly send me an offical looking letter that they have made to look like USPTO letters and ask for the fees ($350). Their name is also similar to uspto.
The first time I got it, I almost was fooled and thought my attorney has forgotten to pay the fee but after looking closely, I saw it got nothing with the fee and in fine print they are writting that you should pay, so they keep an eye on your trademark.
__________________
Visit www.corruptdmozeditor.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:05 AM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 480
adbart RepRank 0
Default

I just do a Whois Opt-out on my domains, makes it easier - no false letters etc.
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:56 AM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 480
adbart RepRank 0
Default

Actually, come to think come it - I do remember getting a weird letter once about one of my .co.uk domains - from a company called "NomiNetworkz".

Undoubtedly, they were trying to spoof as Nominet, the UK domain name recordholders. It said something about typing in confirmation codes then paying for premium service or something which was recommended.

I was skint at the time so didn't even give it some thought!
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:05 AM
angelpure's Avatar
WebProWorld Pro
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: I'm not really sure anymore....
Posts: 116
angelpure RepRank 0
Default

I received a notice from my host, whom I also use to register domain names, and there are several scams out there that are attempting to get people to renew their domain names, even when they aren't due for renewal!

It seems it started out just as a sleazy way to steal a registar customers, then the found out that they many people have no idea when their renewal is do and don't know how to check, so they pay the money.

Sometimes they get renewed, sometimes it's a scam and they have to pay all over again when it really comes due.

There's a crook a minute on the Internet, and not eveyone is as savvy with how things work as most of us are. Let's face it, what's 20 bucks, or 10 pounds any more. Pocket change, people will spend that much without even thinking about it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:38 AM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 480
adbart RepRank 0
Default

I wouldn't say people don't think twice about spending their money any more.

I do however, think that many people are still very naïve when it comes to using the internet.
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:42 AM
ctabuk's Avatar
Moderator
WebProWorld Moderator
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,302
ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3ctabuk RepRank 3
Default

I don't mind a good con, you know what I mean, something like a kid hacker getting into a Bank, that's pretty cool in my books.

But what I cannot stand is SNIDE and if you don't know what that means, it means counterfeit, something pertaining to be something which it is not.

To take money by false pretence, these animals who knock on an old ladies door and say they are from the Gas Board and then nick her purse, they along with the Snides are what ruin a perfect world.
There I said it, I feel better.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:25 AM
collusion's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 419
collusion RepRank 1
Default

I got that same bill/seo invite. I just laughed at it after I figured it wasn't actually a bill.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:55 AM
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 605
KeithO RepRank 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by collusion
I got that same bill/seo invite. I just laughed at it after I figured it wasn't actually a bill.
There aren't people who are as intelligent however.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:32 PM
pagetta's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 505
pagetta RepRank 2
Default

on a slightly different note (but still being conned out of money) our company received a letter saying that we had to have a certian licence due to new legislation and could we send them £35 asap to process the license or we'd be fined. On contacting citizens advice we found it was a con - has anyone else received anything like that?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:32 PM
adbart's Avatar
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 480
adbart RepRank 0
Default

Not the same thing, however I have experienced similar letters.

That is completely typical of these cons - they always threaten that something bad will happen if you don't pay up!

Evidently, it doesn't. :)
__________________
Car Modifications - Car Accessories - Performance Engine Tuning - Car Styling:
Car Styling | Car Pictures
Reply With Quote
Reply

  WebProWorld > Center > Breakroom (General: Any Topic)
Tags:



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0