View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2004, 09:27 AM
ldyguique ldyguique is offline
WebProWorld Veteran
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Anchorage AK
Posts: 340
ldyguique RepRank 0
Default Followup answer

Webmidwife --

It's hard to know just exactly what happened; however, I do know that if the URL was yours, there is only one place that the browser can attempt to go -- to the URL listed. Without going deep-tech, it's "how the net works." The following is the public record about the domain, "WEBMIDWIFE.COM." I "assume" that this is YOUR information. Since the registration is mid-cycle for the year, there is no recent renewal or potential lapse in renewal; therefore, it's unlikely that someone else bought your domain while it was lapsed. There IS a webmidwife.org registered; however, it's dormant and has an "under construction" type of page -- perhaps, your BIL failed to type the *.com and the browser autofound the *.org?

RTSDNS.NET = the server where the website is located, OR where the hosting is taking place. There CAN be a repoint from that server to somewhere else, which would keep YOUR URL in the browser and would go elsewhere. But, you would have to specially request this particular action with your WH company, either through a tech support phonecall or through an action in your control center with the WH company.

Quote:
Please note: the registrant of the domain name is specified in the "registrant" field. In most cases, Go Daddy Software, Inc. is not the registrant of domain names listed in this database.

Registrant:
Beyond Fertility.com
P. O. Box 201
Heber Springs, Arkansas 72543
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: WEBMIDWIFE.COM
Created on: 19-Sep-03
Expires on: 19-Sep-05
Last Updated on: 18-Dec-03

Administrative Contact:
Ramsey, Lori
Beyond Fertility.com
P. O. Box 201
Heber Springs, Arkansas 72543
United States
5013622858 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Ramsey, Lori
Beyond Fertility.com
P. O. Box 201
Heber Springs, Arkansas 72543
United States
5013622858 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.RTSDNS.NET
NS2.RTSDNS.NET
There is a process called hijacking and this link will take you (or your BIL) to a site that gives a good explanation of this particular type of malware (have to scroll down a bit). But, it will show the URL to the site that you've been hijacked to.

Hope this clarifies things a mite.
__________________
LdyGuique
Reply With Quote