View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2004, 09:02 PM
webmidwife webmidwife is offline
WebProWorld New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15
webmidwife RepRank 0
Default I'm horrified - is this spyware????

I hope it's okay I'm posting this here - I wasn't sure where to post it - but I'm totally preplexed!!!

I just spoke with my Brother-in-law on the phone, he called me because he was on my Web Midwife site. I had a bulleted list in the middle with all the options I offer - and one of them was "Complete Web Hosting Packages" - well he said everytime he clicked on it he was taken to a completely different site, offering web hosting packages, but with a different look, different prices, different shopping cart.

I was horrified because I didn't put a hyperlink on that bulleted list - AND I couldn't see the hyperlink at all on my computer. He said that the browser still said http://www.webmidwife.com - but that the bottom part had a different name - and the site was totally different. So this leads me to believe that someone has either somehow gotten on my site and duplicated it to theirs - OR he had some type of sypware on his hard drive that took certain keywords and redirected to another site while masking the current site in the browser address window.

Is this possible????? And now I'm wondering how many of us have this happening and we don't have a clue?? This is horrifying - because I really try to cultivate new clients/customers, and to think that someone is stealing them right out from under me - it's a horrible thing to do!!!

I changed my home page and now the hyperlink is gone, according to my BIL - what's the freaking internet coming to????

Thank you for letting me vent - but I thought you all would like to know this too, as this could affect all of us in one way or another.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Lori Ramsey, CEO
www.tootlebug.com
Reply With Quote