I received the same email today, October 24 2008. I was going to reply to disent then decided to do aweb search for QianKun Investment Limited. This scam/span discussion thread was the first reference I found. Whoever is sending these emails appears to be aggressively searching domain names for whatever reason. . . . . . . .Any more advice re: ignoring or replying in dissent would be apreciated,
Dear President/CEO,
We are the department which is in charge of registering Internet intellectual property of Asia. I have something need to confirm with you. We have received an application formally, one company named "QianKun Investment Limited" applies for
The Internet Trademark Keyword:
mycompany
The domain names:
mycompany.hk
mycompany.us
mycompany.cn
mycompany.com.cn
mycompany.com.hk
On Oct 24. 2008. After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark.These days we will deal with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please contact us as soon as possible.
In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 10 workdays. If your company files no dissent within the time limit,we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "QianKun Investment Limited.".
Best Regards,
Brian
-------------------------------------------------------
Tel: 00852 9566 0496 or 00852 9566 0489
Fax: 00852-8226 1011
Website:
DON'T LINK BACK TO THEM!
This is a letter for confirmation.If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept. Thanks for your cooperation.