Beware of
China Net Technology. They are engaged in a very common
spam/scam to trick people into using their services. See this for example: (an unsolicited mail I received from China Net Technology)
Quote:
Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company's in china. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the Nov 6, 2007, we received an application formally. One company named "Greenstars International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following
Domain names:
xxxxx.com.hk
xxxxx.hk
xxxxx.tw
xxxxx.mobi
Internet brand keyword:
xxxxx
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Greenstars company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Leon Su
China Net Technology Limited
Tel:+852-3059 3057
Fax:+852-3059 3089
Email:Leon.su@netinchina.hk
Web: China Net Technology Limited <http://www.netinchina.hk/>
|
This China Net Technology message is a scam. Unfortunately several Chinese registrars engage in this. They look up the whois info of your company, get your e-mail, then pick a few choice keyword domains that would relate to your brand names or trademarks. They then tell you some other company is going to register these names if you don't get them through them first. It's pretty underhanded.
Get the domains through your trusted registrar. Don't work with these scammers and their spam.
I posted my message to warn others about this scam. Don't fall into their trap or solicit their business.