Domain Name Scam?
I recently received an email from a company in China that read:
Dear ceo,
we are Shanghai Squile Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you, we formally received an application. emin company are applying to register "my-company-name" etc as internet brand keyword and domain name on the 07th of Mar, 2007 . which regarding your interest of Internet intellectual property. We hope to get the affirmation of your company. Please contact us by email or call us directly as soon as possible.
In addition, please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely.
Kind Regards,
When I responded to the email I received this email back:
Thank you for your reply.
XXX(china)venture capital co,ltd are applying to register "my-company-name.cn.com""my-company-name.cn""my-company-name.net.cn" and internet brand keywrod"my-company-name"
The doamin name is takes open registeration,so long as it has not been registered any company can file and apply for the registertion Domain names are corporation's intellectual property.The other party's registration of these domain names and internet brand keyword will cause confusing on Internet,your company have priority of registered.If you don't want these domain names and internet brand keyword to be registered by other party,pls contact to us.Then we will send the register procedure and cost and the application form to your company.You can register these domain names and internet brand keyword in your own name and keep your intellectual property from infringement.if your company give up,I will say"thank you" ,I will help XXXX company registered.
If you have any further questions,pls contact us directly.
My intuition tells me that this is a scam to get me to register domain names in my company name in China, especially the part about registering an "internet brand keyword" for my company name.
Do any of you think this is a legitimate business or just another internet scam.
Thanks!
|